We are having yet another incredibly rainy May this year, with more than an inch of rain above the usual average. Luckily, we have also had enough sunny days to give the garden time to grow.

This lettuce is ready to be used in salad, which we will do this week!  One plant that I’m rather excited about is this little sprout:

With all of the spaghetti squash   we’ve been eating this year, I thought it would be wonderful to  plant some of the seeds from a squash we had already bought, and harvest essentially free squash!  I wasn’t sure if I would be able to plant the seeds immediately after harvesting them from the squash, because all of the information I found about planting squash seeds called for drying and curing them for months, and saving them from fall harvest until spring planting.

I figured the worst that could happen is that they wouldn’t come up, so I cleaned my seeds, let them dry between two paper towels for a few days, hulled the seeds from the outer shells, and planted them!  After only a week, they have already tripled in size and had to be thinned! I’m very hopeful that they will make it through the summer and fall, and that I’ll have a stash of spaghetti squash in the basement for the entire winter.

The entire garden is planted at this point, including all of the herbs as well.  We’ve got two kinds of lettuce, arugula, cauliflower, broccoli, red and green cabbage, strawberries, cantaloupe, cucumber, spaghetti squash, rutabega, cherry tomato, roma tomato, heirloom tomato, red/green/yellow/purple bell pepper, jalapeno pepper, green bean, mesclun mix, carrot, green onion, brussels sprouts, artichoke, pumpkin, thyme, basil, rosemary, sage, parsley, cilantro, mint, chives, oregano, and dill.  Whew!  This is the point where I tend to get excited, until I remember that it will be at least 60 to 90 days until anything is ready to harvest!  Now we just have to focus on keeping everything alive and healthy.

