Every once in a while I’ll make something that Adam deems “a good meal for kids.” I suppose this is because I also make meals that he thinks kids wouldn’t touch (like my beef, carrot, and cabbage stir fry….don’t make gagging noises, it’s really good!). I really appreciate his input, because he’s an objective observer of my cooking, and will tell me the truth about whether or not he’d like to eat something again.

Coconut Chicken Tenders with Honey Mustard Sauce got the official “Husband Approved” seal, and the honorary distinction of being something that kids would like to eat! You see, they don’t always go together. Since I don’t have my own kids to test this on (only dogs, who would just as soon eat chicken poop as they would eat chicken tenders), I’ll just hope to hear from someone else who does.

To get started, you’ll need 2 bowls, a baking sheet, and an oven safe baking rack (they are often also called cooling racks). The baking (or cooling) rack serves to elevate the chicken tenders, so that they will have air circulating around them and therefore be crisped evenly. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees, then get started.

Ingredients for the Chicken Tenders:

4 skinless chicken breasts (this is one of the only recipes I ever use them in), cut into “tender” sized pieces
2 large eggs
3 cups unsweetened shredded coconut
1 tablespoon paprika
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon black pepper

1. Whisk the eggs in one of your 2 bowls.
2. Mix the shredded coconut, paprika, salt, and black pepper in your second bowl.
3. Make an assembly line starting with your chicken tenders, then the egg bowl, then the coconut bowl, then the baking (or cooling) rack which has been set over your baking sheet.
4. Dip the chicken tenders into the egg, then coat them thoroughly with the coconut, then arrange them on the baking rack.
5. Bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes, turn the tenders over, and bake 20 minutes more.

While your tenders are baking, whip up the Honey Mustard Sauce:

1/2 cup dijon mustard
1/2 cup mayonaise (I usually make my own, good instructions are here)
1 tablespoon honey

Whisk together all three ingredients in a bowl and serve with the chicken tenders.

Adam requested sweet potato fries with this meal, which turned out to be a perfect complement to the chicken tenders!  We really enjoyed it, and the leftovers heated up very nicely for the second and third go-round. I sincerely hope someone reports back on the kid-friendliness of this meal, because I’d love to keep it in my arsenal for future use!

